Page Header


The Joint Commission Accreditation

St. Francis - Emory Healthcare is accredited by The Joint Commission. As the nation's oldest and largest health care accrediting body, The Joint Commission awards accreditation after a team of surveyors meet with personnel, patients and visitors; observe the delivery of care; and review systems and processes to assess the organization's compliance with standards.

As an independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission's mission is “to continuously improve the safety and quality of care provided to the public,” which coincides with St. Francis's mission of "Making Communities Healthier."


Disease-Specific Care Certifications

Disease-specific care certification, through The Joint Commission, improves the quality of patient care by reducing variations in clinical processes. The Joint Commission’s emphasis on clinical practice guidelines help organizations establishes a consistent approach to care, reducing the risk of error. It provides a framework for program structure and management, helps to maintain a consistently high-level of quality, and demonstrates our commitment to healthcare quality for our community.

St. Francis has disease-specific certifications for the following programs:

  • Advanced Primary Stroke care
  • Total Hip Replacement care
  • Total Knee Replacement care
  • Perinatal Care Certification - First in state of Georgia